Capture RS485 data

Forum for discussing PicoScope version 6 (non-automotive version)
Post Reply
P_L
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:19 pm

Capture RS485 data

Post by P_L »

Hi all!

I tried to capture UART data to disk (115,2kbaud) but I am not satisfied with result. Could anyone help me with setting please? I used model 2206B MSO, data connected to D11 and D12 channel, params 2 ms/div, 8 kS, decoding disabled and captured 851 Buffers. Data are well decoded but at the end some buffers are errors.
Error sample.png
Error sample.png (7.66 KiB) Viewed 851 times
Is possible to capture data without that errors? Can I be sure all data are captured?
Is possible to capture data for example for 10 min or it is limited by device memory?

Thanks
Petr

bennog
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 9:16 am
Location: Netherlands

Re: Capture RS485 data

Post by bennog »

If you want to capture all the data you are better of at streaming mode.

depending on the capability's of the 2206B

e.x. Total buffer size 2GS (blue arrow) 1Sec/div (or 500ms/div) (red arrow) and have at least 500kS/sec sample rate (you can see this in the property's window green arrow below)
If you don't get to the at least 500kS/sec then you decrease the sec/div till you have at least 500kS in the property's window. On my 3403 I can go to 10 Sec/div. With the 2206B you can probably go to 1 Sec/div or 500 ms/div

P.S. disable decoding while capturing, this will put some limit on the total number of samples if you leave this enabled, this is the same for math cannels !.
2021-04-01_07-35-28.png
Benno

P_L
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2018 8:19 pm

Re: Capture RS485 data

Post by P_L »

Thank you!

FYI: When I set 20 s/div I got 500 kS/sec, for 10 s/div the sample rate was 1 MS/sec.

Post Reply