Trigger method other than via channel A/B

Discussion forum for the new Picoscope Linux software
Post Reply
AnalogueMan
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:25 am

Trigger method other than via channel A/B

Post by AnalogueMan » Thu Oct 17, 2019 1:38 pm

Hello, I am currently using the 2205A version if PicoScope but when I want to use the trigger possibility
I have to sacrifice one channel to do that job.
Is there a way to use the Signal Generator for that purpose and so saving a channel?
Otherwise I am forced to buy a 4 channel version just to fulfill this wish. For me, the 2 channel version
is absolutely sufficient to do my normal measurements.

AnalogueMan
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:25 am

Re: Trigger method other than via channel A/B

Post by AnalogueMan » Sat Oct 19, 2019 2:21 pm

Is there really no workaround to get some external triggering done? Or is my question ignored?
Every simple 2 channel analogue or digital scope has one. In fact I have purchased a 1 channel picoscope because I always need the other channel for triggering.

Gerry
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 493
Joined: Mon Aug 11, 2014 11:14 am

Re: Trigger method other than via channel A/B

Post by Gerry » Tue Oct 22, 2019 9:46 am

Hi AnalogueMan,

You can't connect the Signal Generator internally to the PicoScope, so the only way to use it would be to connect it to an input channel. The only way to not have to use an input channel would be to use an external trigger input instead of a Signal channel input, but the 2205A does not have an external trigger input.

We do have PicoScopes that have external trigger inputs but the PicoScope that you have is an entry level PicoScope aimed at people that want the features of a scope at low cost, so it has some limits on it's capability. Unfortunately, you would have to upgrade your PicoScope to do what you ask.

Regards,

Gerry
Gerry
Technical Specialist

Post Reply