Help to users going from PicoLog5 to PicoLog6?

Forum for discussing PicoLog
Post Reply
LarsW
User
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Lund University

Help to users going from PicoLog5 to PicoLog6?

Post by LarsW » Sat Oct 19, 2019 4:37 pm

I have been using PicoLog with different PicoTech products for many years. Now I have somewhat reluctantly installed PicoLog6 on one of my computers, and my first impression is that some things are easy (setting up a measurement for example), but some things are not trivial (at least not for me), for example how to save to a file and then start a new measurement, how to export, how to change the axes... . The problem is not that features I want do not exist; rather that I do not know where they are. However, I have - over the past couple of days - solved some of my problems by trial and error, but (and this is my question) is there a manual or training videos covering all features (I have seen four good Picolog6 videos with Ziko on youtube, but they only cover how to start a measurement, not how to scale the graph or how to stop, save and export...)?

AndrewA
PICO STAFF
PICO STAFF
Posts: 245
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2014 3:07 pm

Re: Help to users going from PicoLog5 to PicoLog6?

Post by AndrewA » Thu Oct 24, 2019 3:26 pm

Regards Andrew
Technical Specialist

LarsW
User
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Lund University

Re: Help to users going from PicoLog5 to PicoLog6?

Post by LarsW » Fri Nov 15, 2019 5:00 pm

Thanks for the link. It is well described how to connect loggers and start measurements, but I have problems with exporting and this is not described in any detail. Here are the the questions&comments I have:
- After stopping a logging and saving the data, the filename that I gave when saving (as .picolog) should appear. Now, nothing appears and I have to start typing the name again.
- Also add a .txt-export that only exports the data without any headers.
- When exporting, I am (sometimes, seebelow) asked for the sampling rate (of the export), which seems to be set to a default of 1 s, which makes a user who has sampled at another rate confused; better to give the default as the sampling rate that has been used, and (before that) ask the user "do you want to change the sampling rate when exporting?".
- As I log at 5 s, but get the default sampling rate of 1 s when I want to export, I wonder how the software extrapolates between the measured data points? I guess that this is what I should enter as "Last, Measured, Min, Max", but this makes no sense to a user that does not want to change the sampling rate on exporting. As above, hide these options for users that do not want to resample their data (most users will not want to do this).
- If I bring my measured .picolog-files to another computer for evaluation, I have to go to settings and chose the directory where I place the files as default, as it is not possible to view files in other directories from the Files-icon. This is irritating as I may have files in many folders. Why not have a standard Windows file search window under Files?
- When I open files for exporting them, I sometimes (but seldom) automatically get the Configure Data Table window where I can chose for example the number of decimals to export with. This seems to be connected to what file I open. For most files I directly get the window where I chose the export file type, without having the possibility to, e.g., set the number of decimals. As default number of decimals is 3, I could therefore not export the files that I have measured with enough accuracy for them to be useful (until I found a workaround: do all exporting steps, but cancel the last (saving) step, locate the Settings icon in the Data Table and use it to open the window where decimals can be changed, close it, and then start the export procedure again - now with the correct number of decimals).
- Final comment: please release the .picolog file format so that I can write a MATLAB script that imports .picotec files to the MATLAB workspace without first having to export them. This would be immensely useful, and save me from having to decipher the file format.
PS. The above sounds negative, but I am am using many, many of your good products and therefore having some problems now with the transition to Picolog 6. :D

LarsW
User
User
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 9:04 am
Location: Lund University

Re: Help to users going from PicoLog5 to PicoLog6?

Post by LarsW » Fri Nov 15, 2019 10:19 pm

One more thing:
- I miss the Sampling Number being shown during measurement. This is a good way to orient oneself, for example if one wants to make notes of things happening during a measurement, it is easy to just note "s14328", instead of having to write down the time "2 days 14 h 23 m".

Post Reply