PL1000 overflow

Post your .Net discussions here
Post Reply
disys
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:40 pm

PL1000 overflow

Post by disys » Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:50 pm

Good morning,

We are having an issue understanding the PicoLog sdk.

We are working with a PL1000 running the .net and C examples from your example repository but we are getting, for the majority of the times, overflow in channel 1, which is the one we are using. This happens even running your C example with no modifications except the addition of the printf to output the overflow flags.

Is this a normal behavior? For our application we need to be sure we are not missing any sample.

Thanks in advance.

Martyn
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 3710
Joined: Fri Jun 10, 2011 8:15 am
Location: St. Neots

Re: PL1000 overflow

Post by Martyn » Thu Oct 17, 2019 5:24 am

In this case "Overflow" means that the voltage is out of range, not that samples have been missed. As this is a unipolar device this can actually occur when no signal is connected to the input channel as a voltage of 0V or just a fraction below due to system noise will cause this flag to be set.
Martyn
Technical Support Manager

disys
Newbie
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2019 1:40 pm

Re: PL1000 overflow

Post by disys » Thu Oct 17, 2019 7:38 am

Thanks for the reply.

When overflow happens then, does this occur that data has been lost or it is saved as saturated? I mean if I measure 24V and the voltage is 30V, I expect to record 24V, is that the way it works?

Post Reply