Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post discussions on applications you are writing
Post Reply
hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer » Sun Jun 16, 2019 7:59 pm

Andreas_ wrote:
Fri May 31, 2019 6:50 am
Hello Aaron,

thats fine for me

thanks

Andreas
Andreas,

I've made this fix and incorporated into a new released version: https://bitbucket.org/hexamer/fra4picoscope/downloads/FRA4PicoScope%200.6.2b.msi"

Please let me know how this works out.

Thanks,

Aaron.

hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer » Sun Jun 16, 2019 8:11 pm

Hello All,

I've made a new release of the application, available here:
https://bitbucket.org/hexamer/fra4picoscope/downloads/FRA4PicoScope%200.6.2b.msi

I've you've been downloading the latest release candidates, the main update in this one is support for the PS5000D scopes against the official SDK, version 10.6.13.97. To use this release, you should have the 32 bit version of this SDK installed: https://www.picotech.com/download/software/sr/PicoSDK_32_10.6.13.97.exe

It may work with the latest PicoScope Application installed, but it's not the way I've tested it :)

As usual, since I don't have a lot of scopes to test with, I appreciate all problem reports. For that matter, all feedback is welcome :)

Jeremi
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:04 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by Jeremi » Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:07 pm

Hi Aaron,
I'm trying to work with your app using a 64bit python process, so far proving tricky. Any hints on that? Or maybe a planned release of a 64bit dll?
Thanks,
Jeremi

whichislovely
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:54 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by whichislovely » Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:59 pm

Hello!

I am trying to use PicoScope5443D with the latest version FRA4PicoScope 0.6.2b.msi. I have two problems though.

1) There is a fatal error saying
"ps5000aSetChannel( 16384, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 );Fatal error: Failed to disable channel: 290
Status: 5443D S/N: GX150/0121 successfully initialized."

2) When I try to set start frequency to be 100.0 it outputs the following error:
"Start frequency must be >= inf Hz
Error: Invalid inputs."
which confuses me.

Thanks in advance.

philbard
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:12 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by philbard » Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:32 pm

Hi All,

Sorry for what may be a very low level question, I'm new to oscilloscopes and am considering buying a 2000 or 2200 series Pico in order to do Bode Plots on guitar pickups, as I build my own for my line of guitars. I understand that the plot capability isn't available stock on the device, but see that this forum topic deals with a software workaround for that. My question: does the current version support the low end Pico models, if not what is the least expensive device that will run it? Thanks in advance for any help... Cheers Phil

hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer » Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:00 am

philbard wrote:
Tue Oct 15, 2019 7:32 pm
Hi All,

Sorry for what may be a very low level question, I'm new to oscilloscopes and am considering buying a 2000 or 2200 series Pico in order to do Bode Plots on guitar pickups, as I build my own for my line of guitars. I understand that the plot capability isn't available stock on the device, but see that this forum topic deals with a software workaround for that. My question: does the current version support the low end Pico models, if not what is the least expensive device that will run it? Thanks in advance for any help... Cheers Phil
I can tell you that I regularly use it with PS2204A, if that helps. I also occassionally us it with a PS2408B. Between these two, Fra4PicoScope is tested with both the PS2000 and PS2000A API. While I can't guarantee that all 2000 series scopes will work, it's pretty likely they will. And, if you have trouble, I can probably help out.
Last edited by hexamer on Wed Nov 06, 2019 2:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer » Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:13 am

whichislovely wrote:
Mon Sep 30, 2019 2:59 pm
Hello!

I am trying to use PicoScope5443D with the latest version FRA4PicoScope 0.6.2b.msi. I have two problems though.

1) There is a fatal error saying
"ps5000aSetChannel( 16384, 2, 0, 0, 0, 0 );Fatal error: Failed to disable channel: 290
Status: 5443D S/N: GX150/0121 successfully initialized."

2) When I try to set start frequency to be 100.0 it outputs the following error:
"Start frequency must be >= inf Hz
Error: Invalid inputs."
which confuses me.

Thanks in advance.
Sorry for the slow reply.

Error 290 is described in the API manual as:
PICO_CHANNEL_DISABLED_DUE_TO_USB_POWERED
USB power not sufficient to power all channels

I have occasionally had similar issues on my PS5444A where one of my PC's USB port is unable to supply enough power even for just 2 channels (admittedly I don't always use the supplied Picotech USB cable). Any combinations of the following might help:

1) Plug the scope into to AUX DC power
2) Use the Picotech USB cable if you're not already
3) Try a different USB port on your computer
4) Try a USB 3.0 port if your computer has one

I'm not sure if the second issue is a cascade issue from the first, or something different. If you continue to get it, I can help you diagnose further.

Thanks,

Aaron.

hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer » Wed Nov 06, 2019 1:16 am

Jeremi wrote:
Tue Aug 13, 2019 12:07 pm
Hi Aaron,
I'm trying to work with your app using a 64bit python process, so far proving tricky. Any hints on that? Or maybe a planned release of a 64bit dll?
Thanks,
Jeremi
I suspect that's the issue (similar reason why 64bit Excel won't work, see a few posts earlier). I certainly hope to release a 64bit version of the Dll some day, but can't predict when.

teutel
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2019 7:11 am

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by teutel » Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:56 am

Hi Aaron,

I have a "newbie question" regarding compatibility with Windows 10 64 bit. As there have been discussions about issues related to 64 bit systems: Does your software work on my Win 10 pro 64 bit, or do I have to build the system based on an older windows PC with a 32 bit OS?

Kind regards,
Teuvo

hexamer
Advanced User
Advanced User
Posts: 0
Joined: Tue Aug 12, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by hexamer » Tue Nov 12, 2019 3:58 pm

teutel wrote:
Tue Nov 12, 2019 9:56 am
Hi Aaron,

I have a "newbie question" regarding compatibility with Windows 10 64 bit. As there have been discussions about issues related to 64 bit systems: Does your software work on my Win 10 pro 64 bit, or do I have to build the system based on an older windows PC with a 32 bit OS?

Kind regards,
Teuvo
The standalone application runs fine on both 32-bit and 64-bit windows. The application is a 32-bit application, but 64-bit windows runs 32-bit applications. There is no compelling reason to make the application 64 bit.

The issues people are reporting are when they're using the DLL version of FRA4PicoScope and trying to interface it to other 64-bit components. Currently the DLL is only built for 32-bits. I hope to supply a 64-bit DLL some day.

lech226@gmail.com
Newbie
Posts: 0
Joined: Wed Nov 13, 2019 7:59 am

Re: Frequency Response Analyzer with Bode Plots

Post by lech226@gmail.com » Wed Nov 13, 2019 9:16 am

Hello hexamer.
I am very interested in this project and I have read it from pages 1-30, thank you for your research and development.
Personally, I often make (diy) some vacuum tube amplifier to listen to music with the frequency of 20hz-20khz for 2 speakers Left and Right.
Let me ask is with PS2204A and FRA4PicoScope can evaluate my product ?
With the scenario being for one amplifier channel: input signal (sine wave general) [img][/img]is 2Vpp into amplifier RCA and Channel A of PS2204A is connected to the amplifier Speaker output).

I look forward to your answer.
sorry if there's any confusing description
Thank you very much.
Attachments
PS2204A.png

Post Reply